The English Department is proud to host the annual O’Hagan Poetry Contest, made possible by a fund established by the late Thomas O’Hagan of Toronto, Canada.

Award: $100 for the best single poem
Deadline: June 30th (when Vermilion submissions close)
Late submissions will not be considered.
Judges: Ryan Wilson & Amanda Auerbach

Undergraduate students (including the graduating class of 2021) across the University are eligible. All poems submitted to Vermilion for possible publication by eligible students will be considered for the award.

The winner of the contest will be informed of the award in Fall 2021. The winning poem will be published in the Winter 2021 issue of Vermilion and the author will be featured in an online profile.

Guidelines & Information:

  • Only current (or class of 2021) students at The Catholic University of America are eligible.
  • Previously published poems may not be submitted, but there is no restriction as to subject or form.
  • Manuscripts may consist of one poem or a group of poems, or part of a poem. One poem will be chosen as winning the contest.
  • The prize will be awarded for the best single poem. If in the opinion of the judges no poem of sufficient merit is submitted, there will be no award for the year.

For more information, please contact Dr. Taryn Okuma.